GOVERNING BOARD

The Governing Board, chaired by the Lay Leader, will be responsible for the governance of the church and will take the place of our current administrative teams (Finance, Staff-Parish, Trustees).  Its work will include the following:

  • Focusing the church on its mission, vision, and values
  • Making sure all ministries, staff, facilities use, budget, and calendar are aligned to the above
  • Setting needed policies and procedures
  • Setting the budget and providing financial oversight
  • Setting strategic and annual goals

The advantage of a single board system is that it reduces the number of required monthly meetings and frees people to be in ministry rather than spending time on committees.  More importantly, it streamlines decision making with all administrative voices at the table at the same time, and allows the leadership of the church to regularly discuss and hold up the mission, vision, values and strategic goals of the church.

The Governing Board will meet monthly and will be guided by an agenda that is set by the Lay Leader, the Lay Leader-elect, the representative chairs of each of the three administrative areas (Staff Parish, Trustees, Finance), and the pastoral staff. When a portion of the agenda is the purview of a certain committee, like Staff Parish, its chair opens the discussion, deals with those agenda items and closes that part of the meeting.  Administrative areas may have task groups under them.  For example Trustees could have a transportation group; Finance could have stewardship and audit groups.

Governing Board Members

Membership on the Governing Board is by recommendation of the Nomination Committee and affirmed by vote at the Fall Charge Conference meeting.

Senior Pastor  ~ Kandace Brooks,   kandace@saintpaulsumc.org
Associate Pastor ~ TBA,

Lay Leader, Chair ~ Don Griesheimer,  dgriesheimer@comcast.net
Lay Leader-elect ~ Gary Eggebraaten,  geggebra@eng.fsu.edu

*Recording Secretary ~ Karen Mettler,  karenmettler@comcast.net

Lay Delegates to Annual Conference ~ Nic Fugate,  ndfugate@gmail.com
Ryan Kline,  ryanpkline@gmail.com

Staff Parish Relations ~ Mary Anne Helton, chair,  Mary.Anne.Helton@gmail.com
Ralph Jaeger,  Ralph.Jaeger1@me.com
Peggy Harter,  harterp@comcast.net

Finance ~ Fotena Zirps, chair,  fzirps@prodigy.net
Eric Reed,  e_areed@hotmail.com
Tripp Coston,  wcoston@gmail.com

Trustees ~ Bert Palmer, chair,  phpalmer@comcast.net
Dale Croft,  Croftb@comcast.net
Dave Burk,  dburks101@gmail.com

*Treasurer ~ Ana Brown,  treasurer@saintpaulsumc.org

At-large Members ~ Daren Shippy, daren.shippy@gmail.com
Rachel McCleery,  rachel.mccleery@gmail.com
Carey Smith,  fannecarey@yahoo.com
Lisa Cherry,  cherrynoles@comcast.net
Nell Kelly,  ntkelly@comcast.net
Youth Representative,  TBD

* non-voting members of Governing Board

 

CORE MINISTRY TEAM

The second leadership group will be known as the Core Ministry Team.  This team will be chaired by the Lay Leader-elect and will be made up of the leaders of every ministry team of the church, permanent and short-term—teams such as missions, congregational care, youth lay team, and so many more.  This group of leaders will meet together six times during the year primarily for the purpose of communication (events, activities, fund raisers), leadership training, mutual support, and focusing the ministries of the church on the mission, vision and values of our community.  Each ministry team will choose to meet on its own as best suits its needs.  Note that membership on ministry teams will be open to anyone with passion and interest, and will be available throughout the year. This way, as new folks come into the church, they will have the opportunity to immediately involve themselves in ministry teams and become more deeply connected to the church.

Core Ministry Team Chairs

Adult Ministries ~ Barb Bookholt,  jbbook@embarqmail.com

Alzheimer’s Project Representative ~ Greg Perry,  agperryfsu@comcast.net

Pacesetters ~  TBD

Children's Ministry Lay Team ~ Aimee Wirth,  awirth626@gmail.com

Congregational Care ~ Louise Carpenter,  momlmc@centurylink.net

Visitation ~ Pam McMillan, pam@saintpaulsumc.org

Fun and Fellowship ~ Mayra Joiner,  marula427@yahoo.com

Hospitality ~ Nancy Schildt,  bnschildt@embarqmail.com

Missions ~ Linda Brinkley,  Linda.Brinkley@SunTrust.com

Worship ~ Elaine McCreary,  tal.mccreary@comcast.net

Youth Lay Team ~ Yvonne Burks,  yburks101@gmail.com

Boy Scouts ~ Crill Merryday,  cmerryday@gmail.com

Girl Scouts ~ Stephanie Chandler,  stephskelley@hotmail.com
                       Merry Ann Johnson majbgj@gmail.com

Mothers of Preschoolers (MOPS) ~ Rosemary Isham, rosemaryisham@yahoo.com

United Methodist Women ~ Kay Frederick, davidlene1@yahoo.com

*additional ministries may be added to this list as the need arises.  The list will be continuously updated.

Membership on ministry teams of the church is available to all with an interest in serving and is open throughout the year.  The leaders of each team will have as one of their annual goals the task of continually identifying (through Spiritual Gift inventories) and recruiting members of the church to serve on various ministry teams.  If you have an interest in serving on any one of these ministry teams, please contact the team leader and they will be happy to get you involved.

STAFF LISTING AND CONTACT INFORMATION

Rev. Dr. Kandace Brooks, Senior Pastor ~ kandace@saintpaulsumc.org
TBA, Associate Pastor ~
Laurie Batten, Church Administrator ~ laurie@saintpaulsumc.org
Linda Fletcher, Publishing Specialist ~ linda@saintpaulsumc.org
Stephanie Corry, Facilities Coordinator ~ stephaniecorry@saintpaulsumc.org
Jill Merryday, Director of Children’s Ministries ~ jill@saintpaulsumc.org
Peggy Benton, Children’s Ministry Assistant ~ peggy@saintpaulsumc.org
Matt Jones, Director of Youth Ministry ~ matthew@saintpaulsumc.org
Beth Wilde, Nursery Director ~ auntbee71@gmail.com
Curtis Smith, Organist ~ ivoryacres@gmail.com
Cynthia Prescott, Adult and Youth Choir Director ~ cynpres@comcast.net
Justin Crews, Contemporary Worship Leader ~ justin@saintpaulsumc.org
Emily Andrews, SPARKS Choir Director ~ emily@saintpaulsumc.org
Emily Charlson, Chris Morris, Catherine Miller ~ Pianists
Betsy Gingery, Kitchen Coordinator ~ betsy2014@comcast.net
Simon Webb, ~ Sexton
Odis Williams, Sexton Assistant ~ wo@gmail.com
Membership Secretaries ~ membership@saintpaulsumc.org
Mary Ann Brown, Kay Frederick

 

COMMUNICATION

Governing Board meetings are open to church members to attend, however, please be aware that the nature of Staff Parish Relations work that will be done by the board is confidential, and visitors may be asked to step outside for this portion of the Governing Board meetings.

Meeting agendas will be posted on-line prior to all Governing Board meetings and minutes from all meetings will be available upon request through the church office.  Again, please be aware that portions of the minutes which include personnel decisions and evaluations will be redacted from the public meetings.

Core Ministry Team meetings are likewise open for guests to attend. An agenda of the meeting will be published prior to the meeting.  Notes and information from these meetings will be available on request.

The Epistle is our monthly newsletter published in both print and electronic formats. It will contain news from both the Governing Board and Core Ministry Team.

The worship bulletin is a weekly publication that includes date-specific announcements and weekly calendar.

Weekly Notes is published digitally and carries similar announcements as the bulletin, as well as a brief letter from the pastoral staff.

In addition, the following avenues of communication will be utilized:

Annual All-Church Meeting
Celebration of Ministries, Annual Summary Report, Statement of Goals for following year, etc.

Charge Conference
Reports of the church to the District Superintendent; this is primarily administrative in nature, but may also contain some ministry highlights.

Town Hall Meetings
Occasional meetings or other “listening” processes to obtain insight and input from the congregation.

Members of the church are always welcome to contact the pastors or lay leaders to share ideas, concerns or questions.